The “Natural” Lube Face-Off (A Review)

I was on a lube quest. You see, for the longest time I had been using lube from a certain company’s “naturals” line, and it worked well as far as not irritating my ridiculously sensitive vulva and vagina, but I knew there was better lube out there. Lube that wasn’t as runny, lube that had even less chemicals than what I was already using. Good Vibrations stepped in at just the right moment, sending me not just one but two different kinds of water-based lubes that claimed to be everything a “sensitive woman” like myself needed in a lube. Thus began the face off.

 

The Products Good Clean Love “Almost Naked” Personal Lubricant

Blossom Organics Natural Moisturizing Lubricant

Their Claims 95% organic; no petrochemicals or parabens; “recommended by medical professionals nationwide;” 100% vegan; safe for latex and toys. 100% free of harsh ingredients; no parabens, petrochemicals, silicones, glycerin, alcohol, hormones, artificial dyes, flavorings or fragrances; pH balanced, latex-friendly; “naturally pure organic ingredients.”

 

Ingredients

(Copied verbatim from each lube’s packaging.)

Deionized water, Xanthan gum, agar, organic aloe barbendensis leaf juice, natural extractives of lemon and vanilla bean, potassium sorbate, benzoic acid. Organic aloe barbadensis leaf extract, sorbitol, hydroxyethylcellulose, hyaluronic acid, organic stevia rebaudiana extract, tocopherol (vitamin E), sodium citrate, potassium sorbate, organic extracts of paeonia albiflora (peony) root & passiflora incarnata flower.

 

Consistency Very thick, almost gelatinous. Stays where it’s put. Not sticky at all, wet or dry. Thicker than many water-based lubes but not gelatinous. Some running. Tiny bit sticky at first but completely non-sticky once it’s dried.

 

Scent Very slight aloe scent. None.

 

Taste On its own, a very mild “green” taste, probably due to the aloe. Combined with female fluids, no taste. On its own and combined with female fluids, moderate to strong “sweet” taste, probably due to the stevia and floral extracts.

 

Lasting power Like most water-based lubes, it doesn’t last as long as a silicone-based lube, but it doesn’t disappear immediately and again, like most water-based lubes, can be revived with the application of saliva or water.

 

Same as Good Clean Love lubricant.

 

Irritability I experienced no adverse effects on my genitals either internally or externally after using this lube.

 

Same as Good Clean Love lubricant.
Likelihood of My Using It Again Strong. I really loved how thick this lube is (read: NON messy) and how it didn’t have any weird taste to it. It really did merge seamlessly with my own natural fluids, masking neither scent nor taste. Slight. I wouldn’t label this a BAD lube, but I was turned off by the almost-saccharine taste of it, not to mention it didn’t solve the issue of runniness that plagues most water-based lubes.

 

 

Thanks again to Good Vibrations for expanding my lube horizons! I would highly recommended checking out their website if you are in the lube market; their lubricants section is very well organized and should help you find whatever you are looking for.

2 responses to “The “Natural” Lube Face-Off (A Review)

  • Amanda

    Love it.

    I don’t know why I haven’t been reading your blog all along. I read a few stories last night and now this tonight… I’ll be more careful from now on. ;)

  • Dreyanan/Kathryn

    This was the best comparison review I have read. I like that you used a chart so that all the information was quickly and easily assimilated. I also like that you took the time to provide links. I’m bookmarking your website. :-)

Leave a Reply

