Review: Door Jam Cuffs

Review: Door Jam Cuffs

(Note: my set of cuffs do not link up to the straps with a clip as shown in the pic. Mine are hooked directly to a loop in the cuff and in the strap via a metal O-ring. I couldn’t find a pic online of the kind of cuff I was sent, and was unable to take a decent pic of my own, so there you have it.)

Okay, before we go anywhere in this review I need to point out that the correct spelling of the structure is in fact “door jamb” but in keeping with the actual product name, I left it misspelled above. If referring to the structure in my review, though, I will be spelling it correctly. Alright. Here we go!

So, Door Jam Cuffs, brought to you by the same people who make the supercute Corsette harness and one of the most well-known under-the-bed restraint systems: Sportsheets! And, of course, provided by the lovely people at Babeland for me to review, because I have been wanting some door jamb cuffs for a while. Living in an apartment has its pros and cons, but one of the big cons for any BDSM connoisseur is that there is very limited space (and structural integrity) to drill eyebolts into the wall for hooking up cuffs—not to mention either the extra maintenance at move-out time or a deduction from your deposit. So these handy-dandy “instant dungeon just add door” cuffs are really quite perfect for the situation.

I will admit, I was a little put out when I pulled the cuffs out of their packaging. Honestly… they look flimsy. Plastic tubing attached to backpack-strap nylon strips attached to thin fleecy Velcro-closure cuffs? I was pretty sure I could get out of them, never mind someone stronger than I! But, we all know how the saying goes: don’t judge a book by its cover. And in this case, don’t judge the Door Jam Cuffs based on their rather unassuming looks.

For one, these cuffs are comfy. The material is some sort of synthetic made to feel like rabbit fur or something similar, so it feels really nice on the skin. (Added bonus for some of you: vegan friendly!) Of course, that does nothing for the sadists who want their bottoms in stiff, coarse materials that scrape and dig into the skin, but for us sensualists, it’s nice! (Not to mention, hey, sometimes the ideal has to be sacrificed in the name of convenience. It happens.) And actually, these things are way stronger than they look. I pulled with almost all my strength – wrist and ankle – and could not tear out of them. Someone very strong probably could, but these cuffs will keep the average person in place quite nicely.

Another issue I was a little worried about was the size of the cuffs, as I am not a small girl and I do not have tiny, delicate wrists and ankles. The verdict: the cuffs fit fine on my wrists, and while the fabric does not meet when wrapped around my ankles, the extra long Velcro strip closure does the trick, and is not uncomfortable.

There is only one hangup I’ve encountered, and that has to do with using the cuffs as ankle restraints. The plastic tubing meant to sit on the other side of the door jamb and essentially keep your bottom from going anywhere is not small by any means, but since so many inside doors are placed higher to accommodate for carpeting (or just because of shoddy installation), the tubing may slide underneath and render the cuffs useless as ankle restraints. If you have doors that sit close to the floor, this will not be a problem. If it is, you could always try closing the straps into the sides of the door close to the bottom. I tried this and it seemed to work well. And, of course, the cuffs work flawlessly as wrist restraints, which is where I think I would mostly be using them anyway.

The conclusion? Give the Door Jam Cuffs a try! They truly are a great solution for those situations when you cannot cuff your bottom to a wall or a St. Andrews cross or some other sturdier instrument of consensual torture. They work anywhere there is a doorway with a closable door, and can be rolled up and tucked easily into luggage (if you’re the type that doesn’t mind braving the TSA searches, of course) for kink on the go. No, they don’t exactly look hardcore and threatening, but they are highly functional and that, to me, is what really matters.

And, as always, thanks to Babeland for sending me lovely items to review!

<!–[if !mso]> <! st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) } –>

Review: Door Jam Cuffs

Okay, before we go anywhere in this review I need to point out that the correct spelling of the structure is in fact “door jamb” but in keeping with the actual product name, I left it misspelled above. If referring to the structure in my review, though, I will be spelling it correctly. Alright. Here we go!

So, Door Jam Cuffs, brought to you by the same people who make the supercute Corsette harness and one of the most well-known under-the-bed restraint systems: Sportsheets! And, of course, provided by the lovely people at Babeland for me to review, because I have been wanting some door jamb cuffs for a while. Living in an apartment has its pros and cons, but one of the big cons for any BDSM connoisseur is that there is very limited space (and structural integrity) to drill eyebolts into the wall for hooking up cuffs—not to mention either the extra maintenance at move-out time or a deduction from your deposit. So these handy-dandy “instant dungeon just add door” cuffs are really quite perfect for the situation.

I will admit, I was a little put out when I pulled the cuffs out of their packaging. Honestly… they look flimsy. Plastic tubing attached to backpack-strap nylon strips attached to thin fleecy Velcro-closure cuffs? I was pretty sure I could get out of them, never mind someone stronger than I! But, we all know how the saying goes: don’t judge a book by its cover. And in this case, don’t judge the Door Jam Cuffs based on their rather unassuming looks.

For one, these cuffs are comfy. The material is some sort of synthetic made to feel like rabbit fur or something similar, so it feels really nice on the skin. (Added bonus for some of you: vegan friendly!) Of course, that does nothing for the sadists who want their bottoms in stiff, coarse materials that scrape and dig into the skin, but for us sensualists, it’s nice! (Not to mention, hey, sometimes the ideal has to be sacrificed in the name of convenience. It happens.) And actually, these things are way stronger than they look. I pulled with almost all my strength – wrist and ankle – and could not tear out of them. Someone very strong probably could, but these cuffs will keep the average person in place quite nicely.

Another issue I was a little worried about was the size of the cuffs, as I am not a small girl and I do not have tiny, delicate wrists and ankles. The verdict: the cuffs fit fine on my wrists, and while the fabric does not meet when wrapped around my ankles, the extra long Velcro strip closure does the trick, and is not uncomfortable.

There is only one hangup I’ve encountered, and that has to do with using the cuffs as ankle restraints. The plastic tubing meant to sit on the other side of the door jamb and essentially keep your bottom from going anywhere is not small by any means, but since so many inside doors are placed higher to accommodate for carpeting (or just because of shoddy installation), the tubing may slide underneath and render the cuffs useless as ankle restraints. If you have doors that sit close to the floor, this will not be a problem. If it is, you could always try closing the straps into the sides of the door close to the bottom. I tried this and it seemed to work well. And, of course, the cuffs work flawlessly as wrist restraints, which is where I think I would mostly be using them anyway.

The conclusion? Give the Door Jam Cuffs a try! They truly are a great solution for those situations when you cannot cuff your bottom to a wall or a St. Andrews cross or some other sturdier instrument of consensual torture. They work anywhere there is a doorway with a closable door, and can be rolled up and tucked easily into luggage (if you’re the type that doesn’t mind braving the TSA searches, of course) for kink on the go. No, they don’t exactly look hardcore and threatening, but they are highly functional and that, to me, is what really matters.

Leave a Reply

