Finding the Beginning

So those of you who follow Em and/or I on Twitter are aware of the latest news: Em got laid off and is no longer employed as of Saturday. His text on Wednesday afternoon telling me this was more than a little perturbing, but not altogether surprising as his place of work is fighting to stay afloat in these less than ideal economic times.

That’s the one comfort. This was, at least, not discrimination. The doctors for whom he worked, as well as the office manager, were all extremely supportive of him and were very sad to see him go; unfortunately they adhere to the “last hired, first fired” rule of hard times and Em was the newest in his department.

I have to admit, I panicked for about three minutes, there at my desk in my garishly colored office. And then I pulled myself together, because panicking is utterly and absolutely useless. We might have to tighten our belts a bit (more) but we will get through it. We always do. Is there another option?

I was surprised and impressed that really, Em is taking all of this very well. His view is that this could quite possibly be a blessing in disguise, and you know what? He’s right. This doesn’t have to be the tragedy the media makes unemployment out to be. This could be a turning point in our lives. A beautiful filigreed door that opportunity has opened for us, impossible to ignore.

Moving to Portland, where before it was a vague eventuality, is now a bigger possibility to which we are giving serious thought and research. It might involve the borrowing of money, but… well, it could actually potentially happen much sooner than we had originally anticipated. If it looks to be that this newly paved road is leading us to Portland then we are certainly not going to turn away; neither will we fight down a path that has not yet been forged ahead of us.

So… there are a lot of things up in the air right now. It’s slightly unsettling not knowing what’s going to happen, but I have never been one to shy away from change and progress so I’m not going to start playing coy now. And no matter what happens, we’ll make it. We always do.

3 responses to “Finding the Beginning

  • FemmeFairyGodmother

    Hey – so far, getting laid off was the best thing that could have happened to me. I am freelancing which gives me A LOT of flexibility and as long as I keep getting work, it’s good! ;) I’ve wanted to do this for years so I’m kind of excited. What’s Em’s dream? Besides moving to Portland? Maybe now’s the time?

  • Nadia

    Good luck to you both. You’ve got the right attitude about this. *hugs*

  • kyle

    like FFG said, sometimes a lay off is a great way to get you moving in new directions.. and I believe I’ve told you how getting laid off was the best thing that ever happened to my career.

    I know the two of you will make the most of this opportunity. I love you both rock :-D

Leave a Reply

